When you bought your car, you made sure to follow all of Virginia’s requirements for auto insurance. You always pay your premium on time and keep an updated insurance card in your car. But not every driver you meet on the road follows the state law.
When an uninsured driver hits you and causes an injury, you may worry about the costs of medical care. You won’t be able to file a claim against the other driver’s insurance. But in Virginia, your minimum required coverage includes protection against uninsured drivers.
What is uninsured motorist coverage?
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage makes sure you receive benefits in a car crash. If the other driver doesn’t have insurance, your provider steps in to pay out your benefits. You don’t have to worry about waiting for a lawsuit against the other driver. Instead, you can receive your benefits directly from your insurance company.
This coverage can also help you against underinsured drivers. If the other driver does have insurance, but their coverage isn’t enough for your medical bills, your company can pay the difference.
The minimum uninsured motorist coverage you can carry is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. But your provider should have options for higher coverage.
You can still receive insurance benefits if an uninsured driver hits you
Insurance can protect you from the high costs of medical care. But if an at-fault driver doesn’t have any coverage, you can’t file a claim against a non-existent provider. However, Virginia insurance requirements make sure you can rely on your own company to pay your medical bills.